Sex Education Advisory Board Meeting Virtual Meeting - Zoom April 21st, 2022, 6:30 PM

- 1) Call to Order. The meeting was called to order by Melissa Fore at 6:33 PM.
- 2) Membership Roll Call. Members present: Sara Smith, Melissa Fore, Diane Tuinstra, Seth Eckel, Steve Kwasnik, Edith Pendell, Megan Maas, Danny Hearit, Glenn Mitcham, Jonathan Gold, Anne Scott.

3) Approval/Additions to the Agenda

A motion to approve the agenda without any changes was made by Danny Hearit and seconded by Seth Eckel Motion passed unanimously.

4) Approval/Modifications to the March Meeting Minutes

A motion to approve the March meeting minutes without any changes was made by Steve Kwasnik and seconded by Jonathan Gold. Motion passed unanimously.

5) Public Comment:

- a. Megan Maas mentioned that "The online experiences and school policies study" needs more survey data, and asked the board members to ask middle and high school staff to take they survey.
- b. A mini-module on pornography literacy for each grade level sex education is taught was also suggested.

6) Presentations/Committee Reports

a. Sex Ed Director Report

- i. Second public hearing on this board's recommendations to the board of education coming up this Monday April 25th.
- ii. Parent preview meetings are coming for all grade levels starting in May.
- iii. 2023 applications for SEAB membership should be available shortly.

8) Unfinished Business

a. 2021 Puberty: The Wonder Years video discussion

Melissa will collect comments on the video to provide for the teachers as guidance for next spring.

b. 2021 Puberty: The Wonder Years votes

- i. Diane Tuinstra motioned to approve the 4th, 5th and 6th grade 2021 Puberty: The Wonder Years curriculum for use. Steve Kwasnik seconded and the motion passed unanimously.
- ii. Jonathan Gold motioned to approve the 4th, 5th and 6th grade videos used in the 2021 Puberty: The Wonder Years for use. Diane Tuinstra seconded and the motion passed unanimously.

9) Announcements

Next meeting September 2022

10) Adjournment

Motion to adjourn was made by Diane Tuinstra and seconded by Danny Hearit. Meeting adjourned at 7:15 PM.